Alla inlägg av campciabatta

About Me

I’m CJ.


I come from a small town in Sweden. We’re the home of the largest dalahorse in the world. Google it.

My best friend and I grew up together but apart. She’s the only one I kept in touch with after I could finally leave my little small town world. I would never go back, if it wasn’t for the fact that my mother still lives there.

I had a clueless but happy childhood.


I moved to Stockholm when I was 21. I applied to university just so I could get student housing a.k.a. somewhere to live that was far away from home. I love Stockholm; it’s my favorite city in the world and Sweden is an awesome country to live in.

So far, I’ve lived all across the city. I lived with my then-boyfriend in the north, and a co-worker in the inner city. Then I moved west, and for a while I lived with my best friend in the south. Now I’m back in suburbia, where I live with my boyfriend, a guinea-pig and a puppy.

The big city lights from the inner city are beautiful and blinding. My only dream is to live there one day.


I used to have a big family, but now I only have my mother. She is the best person I know, and I admire everything about her. Her strength, her patience, her good heart and her selflessness. I’m less than a fraction of her greatness.

The people that have influenced me the most are my mother, my paternal grandfather, my maternal grandmother and the dog we had when I was little, who was also my best friend. Three out of four are dead, and I never actually met my grandmother. I still believe of all my heart that she looks out for me.

I have strong faith in the fact that I will get to see them all one day, and I try my best to make them proud of me.


I studied at the English institution at Stockholm University. When I first started, in 2005, I wasn’t as interested in the subject as I was in being away from my hometown, so I dropped out after two semesters and got a job.

Five years of work experience later, I came back to finish my degree. I have a genuine interest in the language, and due to the fact that I’m trying to write stories in English I figured it would come in handy.

Right now I’m studying to become a paralegal, which isn’t yet a well-known profession in Sweden, but it’s on the rise. I graduate in 2017.


Work. I started out in the business to make money. I was inexperienced, irresponsible and didn’t have much confidence or pride in what I was doing.

Needless to say, my first employment didn’t end flawlessly, but it taught me a lot of life lessons. It taught me loyalty, integrity, a sense of right and wrong. It taught me to be honest and to follow my instincts.

Two days after I had to quit my job, my current work place called me up and told me to come in for an interview. They hired me the same week.

I take pride in what I do and the company I work for. I still love what I do for a living; I go to work because I want to and I meet all kinds of fantastic people. Most of my friends work with me. Most of my adult life happened in association with my work.

I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else, and hopefully they’ll find a place for me once I graduate.


What else? My dinosaur obsession. I’ve dreamt about dinosaurs since I was but a wee lassie. Jurassic Park changed my life. When I realized there was a book, my heart pretty much exploded.

I have long, serious discussions about the probability of a velociraptor breaking into my job and causing mayhem. What she would do, where she would go first, how long it would take for her to figure out how to open our doors using a security badge.

Yeah, dinosaurs are awesome.


A few years ago when I was going through a rough time, I decided on a whim to go to the pet store and pick up a pet.

A cab ride later, Rambo the Brave and Éowyn the Serene entered the apartment for the first time. Neither of them live up to their names.

I usually spend my weekends admonishing them for kicking hay and poo on the floor or knocking over their lamp. We watch TV and movies together (they dislike Glee). Their hobbies include driving my boyfriend crazy and whining really loud whenever he watches important sport games. They hate taking baths, and one time while I was on Skype with my mom, a fight broke out and one of them bit me.

All in all, we’re a typical family. Éowyn passed away awhile ago, but Rambo struggles on, with a vengeance. Not really. He’s mostly eating cucumbers and letting me spoil him.


I write. I wrote when I was a kid. I made up stories to tell my friends and my cousins. Not only was I a spectacular liar, but I became a decent storyteller as well.

I write long stories and short stories. They usually feature the same characters and settings. I plan to publish something epic one day. I just can’t decide if my story takes place in the future or in space. My penname used to be Cimmy. I haven’t decided what my grown-up penname should be yet.

Most of my stories are in English. English is not my first language, but I make it work. My co-writer Kristine has taught me most of what I know.

My goal to become a good [young-adult] writer includes experiencing a lot of things. It also includes reading a lot of books, good or bad. (I took the course English Literature for Young Readers at Stockholm University.)

So, real life experience, reading and writing anything I can think of should make me into an author one day. Or a really annoying know-it-all. Time will tell.

My read to achieve book list & The Reading Challenge – both entries are in progress.


One of the greatest moments of my life was watching the Detroit Red Wings live at Globen in Sweden when they opened the ’09-’10 season against St. Louis. Even though they lost.

I’ve been a hockey fan most of my life. I have the jersey and the memorabilia and the autographs and the trading cards. My second cousin went overseas in ’91 to play for the Red Wings, and he retired in 2012. He was my hero when I was younger.

He also scored the winning goal in the 2006 Winter Olympics. 16:07.

(I have three crowns tattooed at the back of my head.)


I travel a lot. Sometimes with friends, sometimes alone. (Nowadays always with my boyfriend.) Traveling alone is something everyone should try. It builds character and makes you more independent. You get to do what you want and don’t have to feel silly if you get lost.

Also, you get to be on your own, which is one of my favorite things in the world.

My mom took me to Italy in 1991. For her birthday in 2008, I gave her a trip to Italy in return, and we went to Rome and had so much fun.

Another completely wonderful trip was my third trip to US, which happened to be Simon’s first. We went to New York, Las Vegas, roadtripping to Grand Canyon in a rental car, went to a Yankee’s game with Kristine and so, so much more.

I try to go new places every year. The country I’ve visited the most is England (three times) – now beaten by US, which I have Kristine to thank for! I’ve also been to Denmark, Spain (including Mallorca and The Canary Islands), Turkey, France, Monaco, Tunisia, Greece, Thailand, Estonia and the Netherlands.

Right now we’re sort of planning a roadtrip around Europe, so we can bring Sniff along. The Maldives has also been up for discussion (minus Sniff). And another trip to New York is always on the horizon!

My favorite city (so far) is New York. It’s a big plus that one of my best friends live there. I spent Christmas/New Year 2011 in New York with her and it was a great experience.

I pack light and I have adventures all over the world. My life is pretty awesome.


– I’m a bad speaker but a good writer.
– I own pets and they own my life.
– I sleep during the days and live during the nights.
– I travel as often as I can, for as long as my fulltime job will let me.
– I admire strong women and people who break traditions and standards.
– I don’t believe in any religion but I do believe in afterlife.
– I don’t worry.
– I’m a big city girl from a small town world – an urbanite in suburbia.

People I mention a lot
Stuff I like to watch and read